All bona fide community foundations, and individuals with a special interest in community philanthropy are invited to join Australian Community Philanthropy. ACP members are part of the Australia’s community foundation network, which is in turn part of a global movement.

Member services

ACP delivers the following programs for and with its members:

  • Advocacy for public policy reform to achieve an optimal operating environment for community philanthropy
  • Capacity building through information sharing, peer learning and professional development opportunities 
  • Research and information services
  • Promoting community philanthropy to key stakeholders and in the wider community to raise awareness about its importance and impact
  • Point of contact for external partners, stakeholders and inquirers including our international community foundation peers and their peak bodies.

Benefits of membership

      • Representation and a stronger voice in advocacy
        Together we are more than the sum of our parts. ACP members contribute to the sector’s collective voice with policy makers, opinion leaders and funders.
      • Information, inspiration and support
        Members have access to information, resources, case studies and advice. They inspire each other with their successes, and support each other through challenging times by sharing experiences and helpful hints. 
      • Access to expert advice
        ACP regularly sources up-to-date advice from legal, regulatory and philanthropy experts and makes this available to members.
      • Member pricing and special offers
        Current members have access to preferential booking and discounted tickets to events and are notified of special offers, such as bursaries or travel grants to assist with event attendance at some distance from a foundation’s home base.

Membership inquiry

ACP uses a sliding scale to determine membership fees in line with an organisation’s size and financial capacity. To inquire about membership, contact the office by email on or call 0419 350 240. 


Leading Members

Thanks to our current leading members, Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation and Australian Communities Foundation.


Leading members (typically, foundations with an endowment in excess of $40 million) have the resources to make a more significant financial contribution to ACP. This helps to strengthen our capacity for meaningful support and services to the community foundation sector as a whole. Any community foundation may choose to be a Leading Member.

Follow this link to see a list of current ACP Members.